Skip to content

Buhari appoints ex-IG Arase as PSC chairman

b arase

The President, Major General  Muhammadu Buhari (retd.),  has requested the Senate to confirm the appointment of the former Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase (retd.) as the new Chairman of the Police Service Commission.

Football Highlights

The President in a letter read in plenary on Tuesday by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan,  said the appointment is in accordance with the provision of section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Arase if confirmed by the senate will replace the former chairman of the commission, Musiliu Smith, as a substantive Chairman of the Police Service Commission.

In another development, President Buhari also forwarded two names to be confirmed as Resident Electoral Commissioners for Independent National Electoral Commission

The new appointees are Dr. Mahmuda Isah from Kebbi state whose appointment is for renewal and Dr. Mann Omobayi Alli from Ondo State who is for new appointment.

Another letter received by the  Senate is for the appointment of 5 members of the Code of Conduct Bureau.

They are Murtala A. Kankia from Katsina to represent  ( North West ); Zephaniah Ishaku Bulus from  Nasarawa to represent (North Central) and Farouq Umar from Yobe state to represent  (North East).

Others are  Abdulsalam Taofiq Olawale from Ondo State to represent  ( South West ) and Prof. Juwayriya Badamasiuy from Kogi State to represent (North Central ).

Buhari, therefore, urged the Senate to consider and confirm all the appointments in the usual expeditious manner.