Skip to content

Miranda Lambert, Kelsey Ballerini, Kelly Clarkson performing on the CMAs

The Country Music Association announced Tuesday that the premiere of performers for the 2022 CMA Awards includes Miranda Lambert, Kelsey Ballerini, Carrie Underwood, Morgan Wallen and Laney Wilson, just over two weeks before telecasting on November 9.

The show will open with an all-star tribute to the late Loretta Lynn. Also announced were her performances on the show, Carly Pierce, Zach Brown’s band, Jimmy Allen, Kelly Clarkson, Hardy and co-host of the broadcast, Luke Bryan.

ABC’s 56th annual broadcast telecast at 8 p.m. EDT/November 9 from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena, with former soccer player Peyton Manning announcing that he’ll be doing the show alongside Brian.

The songs for this first round of performers have been announced by the CMA as well, with several in-store collaborations, and most of the hits that originated are echoed on recent records. Ballerini, for example, will perform “You Drunk, Go Home,” a female bar anthem from her new release, with singers who formed a trilogy with her on the recording, Pierce and Clarkson. Hardy and Wilson are set to sing a domestic violence-themed duo, “Wait in the Car.”

Football Highlights

Singer and guitarist Blues King will join Brown’s band on the band’s latest “Out in the Middle,” as he does on the recordings, but the live performance will also include Allen, CMA Award-winning New Year’s Artist of the Year.

Non-collaborative performances include Lambert singing “Geraldine,” Underwood performing “Hate My Heart,” Whalen taking to stage with his hit “You Proof,” and Brian performing a live performance of “Country On.”

More offers are expected to be announced in the 15-day run-up to the show.

As announced in early September, Wilson is the lead nominee this year with six nominations, followed by Pierce, Ashley McBride, Chris Stapleton and songwriter/producer Shane McNally with five nominations each. Cody Johnson and writer and producer Josh Osborne have four nominations on the show, while Lambert, Underwood, Luke Combs, Hardy and Midland all have three nominees.

The contenders for Artist of the Year are Lambert, Underwood, Stapleton, first-time nominee Wallaine, and last year’s winner Combs.

Several performers and nominees for this year were introduced by Variety about their latest projects. Read our interviews with Ballerini here, Lambert here, Combs here and McBryde here.